Skip to content
David Schutter

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced that it is awarding 173 fellowships, including two joint fellowships, to a group of scholars, artists, and scientists. The recipients were chosen from a pool of three thousand applicants and were selected based on their prior achievements and potential to make significant contributions to their fields.

Among the recipients from the cultural sector are Nora Chipaumire and Jen Rosenblit in the choreography category; David Maisel and Hank Willis Thomas in the photography category; and Dave Hullfish Bailey, Amy Feldman, Kate Gilmore, and David Schutter in the fine arts category.

“It’s exceptionally satisfying to name 175 new Guggenheim Fellows. These artists and writers, scholars and scientists, represent the best of the best,” Edward Hirsch, the president of the foundation, said. “Each year since 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has bet everything on the individual, and we’re thrilled to continue to do so with this wonderfully talented and diverse group. It’s an honor to be able to support these individuals to do the work they were meant to do.”

Since its establishment in 1925, the foundation has granted fellowships totaling more than $360 million to over eighteen thousand individuals. This year’s fellows hail from forty-nine scholarly disciplines and artistic fields, sixty-nine different academic institutions, thirty-one states, and three Canadian provinces, and they range in age from twenty-nine to eighty. The complete list of fellows is as follows:


Back To Top